Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I may be THAT mom

Posted by on Feb. 23, 2015 at 12:29 PM
  • 21 Replies

Yes, I need to read my emails better.  To be fair, it would be nice if they weren't written in broken English.

I got an email from the school asking for volunteers to organize the dance.  My son had been talking about some dance at school and I didn't get much in the way of details, but no big deal.  I'm a project manager, my son loves to get all dressed up, I thought it would be fantastic.  I emailed the PTA back right away with the response that I'd love to help out.

Then I read the email closer... and I see that it's a father daughter dance.  Frankly, I don't want to plan an event that myself and my son are not welcome to attend.  And honestly I'm getting very annoyed at the PTA because this is NOT the first gender exclusive event they've planned and it excludes about 70% of the student body (not to mention the exclusion based on culture for most of their other events).

Should I push the issue and turn into one of THOSE moms or just back out?

by on Feb. 23, 2015 at 12:29 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
munky.wench
by Member on Feb. 23, 2015 at 12:44 PM
I don't think there would be anything wrong with writing back and telling them that you changed your mind. Be honest and tell them that you didn't realize that the dance was strictly father/daughter and tell them that you are not interested in helping in something that neither you nor your son would be allowed to attend.
Jinxed8
by Platinum Member on Feb. 23, 2015 at 1:11 PM

I would just retract my e-mail explaining that you have a son and could not participate in a father -daughter dance, you therefore take back your participation.  OR offer to plan a mother-son dance on a different date.

lalasmama2007
by on Feb. 23, 2015 at 1:35 PM

I agree with this...

Quoting Jinxed8: