Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I need some advice here. And no, I am not a troll.

Posted by on Jan. 23, 2016 at 6:59 AM
  • 32 Replies

I am 38 years old, married, and have a teenage daughter. I'm trying to improve my appearance and confidence. I have had a difficult time as I feel nervous around people. Due to negative treatment in my childhood I learned to think and feel negative about myself.

After seeing counselors and psychiatrists I was advised to make some friends.

I want to improve my appearance for reasons of respect. I get stares when I walk into a store. I am polite, but I get service based on my appearance so I'd rather not shop.

I work as a CNA and my husband managed the home while I studied. Now we both work. Our daughter is finishing her senior year.

I would like to change how I appear in my life. My family is good, and my job good. I am moving to another state next week and if anyone has any advice on making friends it would help.

by on Jan. 23, 2016 at 6:59 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Sondi7
by on Jan. 23, 2016 at 7:07 AM
What about your appearance do you want to change?

I always find it easier to make friends in new places through hobbies. Join a book club, cooking class, gym.... Etc. whatever you enjoy doing.
iamcafemom83
by Bronze Member on Jan. 23, 2016 at 7:09 AM
2 moms liked this
Making friends is kind of like dating, isn't it!!! At least that's what it feels like.

If there's anything you enjoy doing, start there. Some people play sports and make friends that way.

I am between friends myself...I had a couple cool people in the last year but they've all moved. :(

You could try finding your new city's Facebook page. I am part of a couple in our own and new people to town are constantly fly posting asking questions. It could help you find mom's groups, areas your family might like to go do things.