Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

signs of autism in toddler please help

Posted by on May. 24, 2013 at 8:28 PM
  • 17 Replies
  • 1080 Total Views
Hi everyone,

I have been babysitting a child for 10 hours a day every Friday for the past 3 months. She turned 2 a month ago. I know it is early to diagnose anything, but she displays certain traits I feel may coincide with Autism. I would love some feedback from parents whose children fall in the spectrum. I will list what I have seen :

She walks on her toes constantly. I have only seen her flat footed twice, each time was only for about 15 seconds tops.

She only attempts to say 2 words: ball and up. She moans a lot, and I go over names of things constantly. she shows no interest in learning and no progression.

Her hands. She gets lost for 10 minute increments staring at her hands, lost in her own world. She moves her right hand in a twisted flapping motion that almost seems involuntary.

She rarely responds to her name and if she does she will be looking away and moan.

She usually doesn't make eye contact with me.

Most of the time she prefers to play by herself. Occasionally my 4 year old can get her excited when he runs around the house making noises, but her interest fades quickly.

She doesn't remember how to play with toys. I will show her stacking rings and how to roll a ball, but she has yet to try to do them.

She is very attached to her silly cup. She doesn't have a favorite stuffed animal or blanket, but when she is here she will not put her cup down. She carries it the way a kid carries their favorite stuffed dog.

She won't tell me what she want or try to point to it. I will watch her struggle with stuff but she won't call out or bring things to me if she needs help. If I try to show her how to do something, she throws a horrible shrieking tantrum.