Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

just another day in the life

Posted by on Jul. 25, 2007 at 11:13 AM
  • 3 Replies
  • 194 Total Views

Hello.  I am new to cafe mom only my second post.  I have been browsing and reading other posts and it feels great to know that my thoughts and feelings are normal.  My 9 yr. old daughter B. has autism spectrum disorder.  Have been struggling with day care issues. I have been sending my daughter to a day camp for "regular" (whatever that is) children.  Not going good. Had to bring her to work one day and the boss was not impressed with her stimming. (screaming squatelyoop at the top of her lungs) I also have very little support system.  Have alot of family who seems to think that autism is behavior I somehow created by not being a stronger parent. (you know such as if I would make her she would use that fork to eat with instead of her hands)  Sometimes I feel consumed by the monster as we call it.  I am married and thank god daily for my husband.  He is basically the only sounding board I have but think sometimes he doesn't even understand.  My daughter is very dependent on mom!  Day care and work relations have been so stressful lately that I think I am going to have to make some major decisions in my life and I can't  seem to make it through the day with a dry eye. (My boss is also impressed by that) Are there any of you out there that had to make drastic changes to be able to stay home once you had special needs kids? 

by on Jul. 25, 2007 at 11:13 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-3):
mom4fun
by Bronze Member on Jul. 25, 2007 at 11:25 AM