Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Meds all around?

Posted by on Mar. 27, 2013 at 10:25 AM
  • 10 Replies
  • 251 Total Views

I'm new to the world of actually taking care of my problems with ADHD. I self-medicated for years with nicotine and just over a year ago I quit smoking, which then brought on all of the symptoms I had suppressed for years while I was smoking. December 2012 I went to the doctor and was diagnosed with adult ADHD and I have been on meds since. I am a full time student and mother of 2 beautiful children. A 9 year old boy, Alexander, and a 4 year old girl, Maggie.

My son was diagnosed in February with ADD and is also on meds. He wasn't that kid that was horrible, but I saw he was struggeling and wanted to get him some help. He would tell me stories, but was very easily sidetracked with other thoughts. In is future, I see him being able to control all of this without medication. That is my goal for him. But if he alwasy needs it, that is fine too.

My dear daughter, oh boy. She can be in mid sentence, and suddenly she's gone. Example: "Mommy, I waaaaannnnnnnnnt...........Oh, MOM you should have seen.......oh yeah, I want a PB&J!" I am trying new things and trying to take things out of our diets.

I want to try the Feingold Diet, but from what I've seen it scares me. We have tried our hardest to eliminate RED 40 from our diets, as well as anything with Aspartame in it (i.e. diet pop, some yogurts, crystal light, artificial sweetners, and yes some koolaids as well).

My fiance was just recently diagnosed with ADD as well, which is a good thing I think.....I hope. I was ready to hurt him for a minute....=)

Does anyone else have a house full of ADHD/ADD? If so, how do you cope?

by on Mar. 27, 2013 at 10:25 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
boppysmom2007
by Member on Mar. 28, 2013 at 12:23 AM