Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Favorite Recipes

Posted by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 5:16 PM
  • 5 Replies

Hi Everyone!

What is your all-time favorite recipe?

If you can, share your recipe with us.

by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 5:16 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
admckenzie
by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 9:28 PM

All time? lol. I've only been cooking a short time since I reared my children on fast food. I started learning how to cook after they all moved out and found out what the kitchen was for! I've found that I like baking more than cooking meals but my favorite turns out to be pudding. It's a simple recipe of 4 tbs cocoa, 4 tbs cornstarch, 6 tbs sugar, dash of salt, 2 cups milk. Put in med pan on low heat or use double boiler. When it thickens up add 1 tbs butter and 1 tsp vanilla. 

rkoloms
by on Dec. 2, 2009 at 8:24 AM

I have so many favorites! I hate to cook and I love to eat good food, so what I cook tends to be simple and healthy.

This is one of my favorites (it is restaurant-quality):

General Tsao's Tofu                        
1 box of firm or extra firm tofu
1 egg or substitute
3/4 cup cornstarch
vegetable oil for frying
3 chopped green onions
1 Tablespoon minced ginger
1 Tablespoon minced garlic
2/3 cup vegetable stock
2 Tablespoons soy sauce
4 Tablespoons sugar
red pepper to taste
1 Tablespoon sherry (optional) (you can sub apple cider or white grape juice)
1 Tablespoon white vinegar
steamed broccoli
cooked brown rice
Drain, dry and cut tofu into 1 inch chunks. You can freeze tofu the night before to get a more chicken-like consistency, but it isn't necessary. Mix the egg with 3 tablespoons cold water. Dip tofu in egg/water
mixture and coat completely. Sprinkle 3/4 cup cornstarch over tofu and coat completely. Watch out that the cornstarch doesn't clump up at the bottom of the bowl.