• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I am not a Muslim, but I am in need of some help/advice.

Posted by on Dec. 14, 2009 at 9:35 PM
  • 12 Replies
  • 574 Total Views

I am a preschool teacher and I have a soon to be 3 year old Muslim boy in my classroom. This is the first social setting that he has been in where all of the children speak English. His parents are concerned about his learning. He doesn't speak much, but he has improved greatly over the past few months. The parents know 4 languages, however, they only know a little bit of English. I spoke with the mother today and she was asking about her son and how he was doing. I explained to her about his improvements as well as things we are still working on. I don't think she understood every thing that I said. So, here is what I want to do.

1. I want the parents to feel welcome and involved in the classroom. So, I am looking for someone who could either a. look over the translation of our newsletters and/or parent letters from English To Arabic using an online translator to make sure it is correct, or b. actually translate everything about 2-3 times a month.

2. I am also looking for advice to help the child feel welcomed and comfortable in the classroom. As I mentioned before this is a entirely different atmosphere for him, not only in him not being able to speak English very well, but also, we are a Christian Preschool Center, and we may do things differently than his parents do.

Thanks in Advance!

by on Dec. 14, 2009 at 9:35 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
AmmuJSE
by on Dec. 14, 2009 at 9:42 PM

where are his parents from?

what languages do they speak (you said 4....do you know them)?

Be careful on certain foods you feed him, some might contain gelatin and there is a big chance it's pork. *buy the smile face ones from walmart, they are gelatin free*.