Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

My Jewish Friend

Posted by on May. 31, 2013 at 1:01 PM
  • 2 Replies
  • 269 Total Views
3 moms liked this

I'd like to tell you a little story... the moral I took from this this story for myself is to not have any premade judgements or feelings about anyone based on their religion, culture, ethinicity.

Here it goes...

During my last semester of my second year in medical school we had to pass our first clinical test where we had to do some basic physical exam stuff on fake patients and such and of course we were supposed to practice for it.  As a little background I was by myself with my oldest child who was 2 years old at the time during the first 2 years of med school.  My husband had to stay in CA and work, unfortunately. Yunus, my son, therefore went to the campus daycare during the day while I attended classes and I studied by myself at my appartment since I had him to take of too.  I was not very social.  So this was going to be a struggle for me to find a group of my classmates I could practice with....

I went to the masjid beside the campus and asked all the sisters in our class.  They had a group set up aready but they told me they were meeting at 9pm twice per week.  I begged them to please meet earlier in the day because I could not find a babysitter that late and my son went to sleep at that time.  They knew my situation well as I was the only muslim female alone with a child.  Still they refused to change the time and told me that was the time that was working out best for all the other sisters who of course had no children.