Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Rude People

Posted by on Aug. 31, 2010 at 8:20 AM
  • 18 Replies

As some of you know, I work in customer service. Now, of course I don't only encounter rude people at work, but I see them more often there.

Why do some people feel the need to be rude and obnoxious, all the time, for no reason at all? I understand assertive, when the need arises, but to be just plain mean and rude to everyone, where is the lore in that? Why do some people feel the need to act that way?

The way I see it, isn't necessarily the way you see it. Or the way it is, or ought to be. What's more important, is that we're all looking for it, and a way to see it.

Desi DeNardo (via Starbucks coffee cup)

by on Aug. 31, 2010 at 8:20 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
tericared
by on Aug. 31, 2010 at 8:26 AM

People have seemed to have lost common courtesy....

EireLass
by Ruby Member on Aug. 31, 2010 at 8:27 AM

i think people confuse assertive with rudeness......they think they'll get what they want. 

bakebiscotti
by on Aug. 31, 2010 at 8:29 AM

I'm very nice when I have the help pick the dirt from under my toe nails.  I say please and thank you.

I think people who have a low or perceived low station in life, sometimes feel like they need to lord it over someone.

But then again, I think some people are just mean and had a poor upbringing

rnjMOM
by Rachel on Aug. 31, 2010 at 8:32 AM

I think people are rude and obnoxious to cover their insecurites.  Or, they are just assholes.

sneffy014
by Bronze Member on Aug. 31, 2010 at 8:33 AM

I think some people feel freer to express themselves behind the safety of a computer screen. Also, some people are attracted to drama.

Wyldbutterfly
by Bronze Member on Aug. 31, 2010 at 8:39 AM