Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Current Events & Hot Topics Current Events & Hot Topics

Should Military Enrollment Come with a Warning?

Posted by   + Show Post

Should the posters/recruitment centers for the military have warnings on them like cigarettes do?  Should the posters read, "Warning! Joining the military may cause partial/permanent mental and physical disability with possibility of death and other adverse health problems"   my dh and others who are vets were talking about this....

by on May. 12, 2012 at 8:03 AM
Replies (31-40):
bluespagan
by on May. 12, 2012 at 12:06 PM

I am a veteran who is 90% disabled through the VA.

I knew what I was getting into.  I just never expected to get hurt the way I did.  I was hurt doing my job stateside.  An electrical panel blew up in my face.  I have neuropathy of my hands, scars, PTSD and about 6 other problems listed.

I think that recruiters need to make people aware that it isn't all roses and lollipops.  I think that when you give people all the "free school, see the world, have a stable job, get experience" so on and so forth it sets them up to think about only the good and forget about the bad. 

AMBG825
by on May. 12, 2012 at 12:16 PM
I think if someone is so stupid that they don't know that joining the military could be dangerous to your health, I would hope they would fail the entry qualifications to get in.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
GotSomeKids
by Silver Member on May. 12, 2012 at 12:18 PM

Well, if anyone bothered to read the contracts they sign, it isn't a "big secret".  Where exactly would that warning go, on the window of the recruitment center?

I so would laugh if they had that fast talking person who is in all the car commercials who in literally 8 seconds reverbs all the contractual information at the end of the commercial.  Imagine that with a military commercial.