Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Current Events & Hot Topics Current Events & Hot Topics

Roxana Soto Why Colorado's "booming" kkk membershp scares me

Posted by   + Show Post

Why Colorado's "booming" Ku Klux Klan membership really scares me

Posted by Roxana A. Soto on February 28, 2012 at 9:30 PM
  Roxana A. Soto 
About the author

Roxana A. Soto is a Staff Writer for MamásLatinas. She's a bilingual and bicultural journalist born in Peru and raised in Mexico, Argentina, South Africa and Miami. She's also mom to a kindergartener and a toddler. She loves languages, traveling and good food - especially if it's cooked by someone else.

Read More
Filed Under: immigration, latinos in america  

So I just found out that membership in the Ku Klux Klan is up in Colorado--the state I've been calling home for the past five years--and I shivered. I'm not naive enough to think that the white supremacist way of thinking has been abolished, but to actually go and join the KKK in this day and age seems a bit too much for me. Then again, given the current state of immigration affairs in this country, who am I kidding, right?

When I tell other Latinos that I moved from Miami to Colorado, they always want to know how I've dealt with the discrimination I supposedly should have experienced here. And I never have anything to say because, unless I'm either blind or deaf, I can honestly say that I've never felt like I was being treated any differently because of the color of my skin, my loud Latina Spanish-speaking ways or my accent in English.