Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Looking for info/opinions

Posted by on Jan. 19, 2013 at 10:55 PM
  • 36 Replies

I'm not sure if this is really the right group for this post or not but....... do any of you ladies personally know any physicians assistants or nurse practitioners? I want to return to school and both occupations are very similar so I am conflicted as to which to pursue. If I go the way of PA, I don't think I can work while schooling. If I go nursing, I can work while I get my MSN but then I have to work a few years for experience before returning to earn my NP degree. So I'm hoping some of you might have info/opinions on either career that I can use to help weigh my decision.  

by on Jan. 19, 2013 at 10:55 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Sisteract
by Whoopie on Jan. 19, 2013 at 11:06 PM

What is your background, education and what do you do for a living now?

How old are you?... that will make a difference in terms of schooling, costs and return based on the # of years you will work post education-

fireangel5
by Gold Member on Jan. 20, 2013 at 12:18 AM

Paramedic with CFD for 20 years, BS in biology/secondary ed. Just turned 45. If I go for PA, 18 months straight thru. Probably can't work during tho. Accelerated MSN is about 15 months, great deal of it online so I could teach next year and bring in some $. BUT then I would have to work a year or two before starting school for NP. I worry about income while in school. And job availability. Not sure how the two compare for that. 

Quoting Sisteract:

How old are you?... that will make a difference in terms of schooling, costs and return based on the # of years you will work post education-

Sisteract
by Whoopie on Jan. 20, 2013 at 12:24 AM