Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Current Events & Hot Topics Current Events & Hot Topics

I'm not sure if this is really the right group for this post or not but....... do any of you ladies personally know any physicians assistants or nurse practitioners? I want to return to school and both occupations are very similar so I am conflicted as to which to pursue. If I go the way of PA, I don't think I can work while schooling. If I go nursing, I can work while I get my MSN but then I have to work a few years for experience before returning to earn my NP degree. So I'm hoping some of you might have info/opinions on either career that I can use to help weigh my decision.  

by on Jan. 19, 2013 at 10:55 PM
Replies (11-20):
illegallyblonde
by Lawyerupbeeches on Jan. 20, 2013 at 12:30 PM
DNP is a doctorate of nursing practice. It is replacing the NP program. My DH is an NP working towards DNP.

It does take a lot of time but it also goes by so fast. You really get to pick your job when you graduate. The health field wants more PAs and NP, they are cheaper and can do so much.

Quoting fireangel5:

I was looking into the accelerated MSN program here. As long as I have a bachelors degee, I can enter that program then work a year or two before entering the NP program. I am completely unfamiliar with DNP. Same type of program? I was leaning toward the NP program due to the fact that they have more autonomy, even tho both occupations do similar things. I think I would like the nursing approach better, I was just concerned about the amount of time for me to reach that goal :-/

Quoting illegallyblonde: