Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Current Events & Hot Topics Current Events & Hot Topics

I'm not sure if this is really the right group for this post or not but....... do any of you ladies personally know any physicians assistants or nurse practitioners? I want to return to school and both occupations are very similar so I am conflicted as to which to pursue. If I go the way of PA, I don't think I can work while schooling. If I go nursing, I can work while I get my MSN but then I have to work a few years for experience before returning to earn my NP degree. So I'm hoping some of you might have info/opinions on either career that I can use to help weigh my decision.  

by on Jan. 19, 2013 at 10:55 PM
Replies (21-30):
Stephanie329
by Platinum Member on Jan. 21, 2013 at 4:44 PM
My spervisor (respiratory therapy department) is also a RN working in the ICU to get in her experience. She plans on continuing to work while in NP school.

Quoting fireangel5:

My only real confusion is how much time do I want before I become what I want to grow up and be lol and working while in school. I've become used to a salary lol

Quoting LindaClement:

Interestion question.

I have no idea.

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
pamelax3
by Gold Member on Jan. 21, 2013 at 4:46 PM

I have a few friends that are PA's and NP's but I am clueless on what all the rules are.. Sorry

fireangel5
by Gold Member on Jan. 21, 2013 at 4:51 PM

I don't know any PA's personally except at my Dr.s office and I won't be there for awhile :-/

Quoting pamelax3:

I have a few friends that are PA's and NP's but I am clueless on what all the rules are.. Sorry

LilrockerMama
by Member on Jan. 21, 2013 at 5:16 PM
I'd rather be a PA than NP. PA have more of variety I guess. If you want to do ER for a few years then go to oncology you can and you don't have to go back to school like you would for NP.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
fireangel5