Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I'm not sure if this is really the right group for this post or not but....... do any of you ladies personally know any physicians assistants or nurse practitioners? I want to return to school and both occupations are very similar so I am conflicted as to which to pursue. If I go the way of PA, I don't think I can work while schooling. If I go nursing, I can work while I get my MSN but then I have to work a few years for experience before returning to earn my NP degree. So I'm hoping some of you might have info/opinions on either career that I can use to help weigh my decision.  

by on Jan. 19, 2013 at 10:55 PM
Replies (31-36):
LindaClement
by Linda on Jan. 21, 2013 at 8:38 PM

That sucks!

Quoting fireangel5:

Exactly!! I was conflicted before as to whether to pursue nursing or teaching HS science. I chose teaching and I kick myself almost daily. 

Quoting LindaClement:

I think it depends more on what it is you actually want to DO... maybe a job shadow for a week in each will clarify it.

No point in taking the short trip through school to get a job you dislike intensely...

Quoting fireangel5:

My only real confusion is how much time do I want before I become what I want to grow up and be lol and working while in school. I've become used to a salary lol

Quoting LindaClement:

Interestion question.

I have no idea.

toomanypoodles
by Ruby Member on Jan. 21, 2013 at 10:08 PM

Quoting fireangel5:

I actually enjoy school and I don't mind hard work. I wish I had gone the nursing route rather than teaching when I went back to school after my cancer treatments. I don't want to make the wrong choice again. 

Quoting toomanypoodles: