Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

A question for working moms: How do you afford daycare?

Posted by   + Show Post

Or if you don't pay for daycare how do you handle childcare while you are working?  To listen to some women it seems almost impossible for women to work because of the unaffordability of childcare.

by on Feb. 18, 2013 at 10:27 AM
Replies (11-20):
slashteddy
by Bronze Member on Feb. 18, 2013 at 10:40 AM
I'd like to know this too. Our state is doing away with daycare assistance April 1. The cheapest I've found so far is $550 a month and there's no way we can afford that yet.
mikiemom
by Ruby Member on Feb. 18, 2013 at 10:41 AM
1 mom liked this

I finished my Master's degree before having my child. I make very good money because I planned my child.

Firenygirl180
by Bronze Member on Feb. 18, 2013 at 10:43 AM

When I start working I don't know what we will do.  We thought about working different shifts but DF works m-f 8-5 and I would work 2-10 5 days a week with a 3 week rotation for my days off.  Basically we'd have to pay for full time care even though 7 weekdays a month i'd be sitting at home while the kids would be at daycare (or home with me but still paying for care).  

With that option though it would be half day 5 days aweek but I'd have to drive them 20 minutes north just to go to work 20 minutes south of where i live or I'd take them to a daycare 20 minutes south and DF would have to drive that extra to pick them up.

The other option would be me working 6a-2p and DF still working 8-5.  They would be in daycare full time in town where DF works.  

I am hoping to find a nanny that can come here to watch them since we really only need care from 7:30-2:30 on the weekdays I work.  

newmommy430
by on Feb. 18, 2013 at 10:44 AM