Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Current Events & Hot Topics Current Events & Hot Topics

If a 7 year old "gets it", why can't Congress seem to grasp the concept?

Posted by   + Show Post

My 7 year old daughter has been home sick for a week. We had a ton of make up work to get through. Normally this assignment would have been completed in class. 

My daughter asked for help with the following assignment. Being a former teacher, I am not going to just give the answers to her, so I simply read the definition provided, and the question, then asked her what she thought Jill didn't have enough of, or what she was missing, and repeated, " What is scarce for Jill?".

About 4 minutes later I noticed she had moved on to another worksheet, so I asked to see her work. This is what my 1st grader answered. 

I was dying laughing! I know that isn't the answer they were looking for, but I couldn't have her change it. She just saw the root of the problem. Waiting to see what her teacher says about it. Lol 
Out of the mouthes of babes. ;-) 

by on Apr. 18, 2013 at 8:25 AM
Replies (11-20):
Zadidoll
by on Apr. 18, 2013 at 12:32 PM

First, I have to say I laughed as well however my second thought was your daughter is being judgemental which means it came from the parents. Granted, Jill is not a real person but if Jill was a real person how would your daughter know if Jill had a job or not? LOL I hope you explained to your daughter that people can have a job but not earn enough money to pay for everything which is why some people have two and even three jobs to TRY to make ends meet but unfortunately for some they can't get a second or third job because jobs are scarce. ;)

Quoting DestinyHLewis:

My 7 year old daughter has been home sick for a week. We had a ton of make up work to get through. Normally this assignment would have been completed in class.