Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Current Events & Hot Topics Current Events & Hot Topics

Are moms angrier online posters?

Posted by on Oct. 5, 2013 at 4:16 PM
  • 108 Replies

First off let me say that I'm a writer and psychology major (former psych major, I'm oldish now, 47) and interested in human behavior and the brain. 

I'm not provoking a hostile tirade. 

Nearly all of my exchanges in CM, including my most recent, have been respectful and engaging.  And as with any population, in every batch sits one angry apple who's poisons the thread tone.  

That being said, I'm curious (PLEASE no snark, hostility or slings or I would have posted in Shameless, which is telling in itself, that we have that group, of which I'm a member :). Always good to let the vixen out of us love you sign

Why of all the zillion places, forums I've posted in a decade, this is one of  the few (but not only) places where I see some of the most intense anger and ass chewing I've ever seen online, anywhere.

Now, Angry Bob who once had his angry way with me, clearly says it all by his name. (BTW, who is "he"?). He was poised to be pissed from the get go by his name.

It can't be moms are an angrier bunch than the rest of the populous? Are we?   Sure, we've been societally overburdened by all the reasons we know, damned if we work, damned if we stay at home. Frustrated by the double standards (dads can be at work and "leave" their kids, but moms who work? holy mother of critical) and so on. Expectations for mothers to be all things to all people can make it a ripe place, online, to vent.

So, I also get that online affords anonymity. Online people have the luxury of the keyboard distance, a time delay, to feel brazen and unleash. No eye to eye contact affords some serious emotional freedom, but whoaconfused

Head scratcher?

Thanking you in advance.  

by on Oct. 5, 2013 at 4:16 PM
Add your quick reply below: