Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Before You Post Something Derogatory About Shopping On Thanksgiving…

Posted by on Nov. 27, 2013 at 11:42 PM
  • 126 Replies
5 moms liked this

http://www.misszoot.com/2013/11/25/shopping-on-thanksgiving/

Let me tell you a few stories.

On Christmas Day, 1999, I was waking up alone. My 4-year old child was spending Christmas with his Dad and I was bored and bitter and jealous of my friend who worked at a breakfast place down the road because – at least she could make money on Christmas. I worked in a lab at my college so I was alone AND unable to work to make money. Our pitiful Christmas tree that year was filled with presents from the Dollar Store because we had also been closed over Thanksgiving break and my November paycheck was smaller than usual. Making extra money that time of year would have been perfect. I had another friend who had to work that day and was missing Christmas with her family and – while I felt bad for her because she was irritated about missing family time – she also joked that half of her friends had offered to wear wigs and pose as her that day, but only if they could keep the tips they made.

One of my last Christmases at home, where I was raised by a single Dad and had a brother, we were bored after the 30-minute Christmas present opening session. It was cold and rainy and we decided to drive around town to see if there was any place open for breakfast. We were thrilled to find a Denny’s that was open and we had a great meal there while with several elderly single customers. Dad tipped really well.