Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Current Events & Hot Topics Current Events & Hot Topics

Creationist: If Evolution is True, Is Rape Wrong?

Posted by on Jun. 25, 2014 at 10:41 PM
  • 166 Replies
1 mom liked this

In a Creation Today clip posted online yesterday, Creationist Darek Isaacs explained that if evolution was true, then rape must not be such a bad thing:

Derek Isaacs (right)

… I studied Darwin, I studied Dawkins, Hitchens, E.O. Wilson, some of the purveyors of evolutionary thought. And they led me to a very, very dark place. ‘Cause you have to start asking questions: Well, if evolution is true, and it’s just all about the male propagating their DNA, we had to ask hard questions, like, is rape wrong?

Marriage would be, in an evolutionary worldview, marriage would be the anathema. Because it’s one man married to one woman for life… but according to the evolutionary worldview, [if] that male is strong enough and he had wonderful genes, he should propagate his DNA as much as possible so that the species can progress

Or maybe evolution is a description of how things are, not a prescription for how they ought to be.

Or maybe forming a strong bond with one individual actually allows our offspring to survive in the long term in a way that weak bonds with multiple individuals would not.

I guess we should just be happy that Isaacs is a Creationist. Otherwise, apparently, he’d be a monster…

Read more: http://www.patheos.com/blogs/friendlyatheist/2014/06/10/creationist-if-evolution-is-true-is-rape-wrong/#ixzz35hx2UtLv

by on Jun. 25, 2014 at 10:41 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mehamil1
by Platinum Member on Jun. 25, 2014 at 10:50 PM
27 moms liked this

Honestly, if your faith is the only think keeping you from raping and murdering, you are an awful human being.