Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Holy Keys! "Self taught"

Posted by on Jan. 31, 2016 at 11:09 PM
  • 10 Replies
1 mom liked this

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/teen-pianist-viral-thanks-virtuoso-performance-article-1.2509628

http://thegrio.com/2016/01/26/teenage-pianist-viral-performance-michigan-montel-west/

high school senior who taught himself how to play piano had no idea when he sat down at the piano in a mall that he was being recorded.

Now, footage of Monntel West’s virtuoso performance is going viral, and everyone who sees him play is stunned by his talent.

Sara Hadley, who captured the video of the piano-playing teen, said, “I had goosebumps.”

“It was just amazing, and I figured he just deserved some sort of recognition,” she added.

West said that the performance started simply because he was bored while he was waiting for a friend in the mall. He spotted the piano and sat down to play “River Flows in You,” and soon, he had drawn a crowd.

“Everybody has those hidden talents and hidden abilities,” the Everett High School senior said.

“Hopefully this shows people to not be afraid to show them.”

West has never had any training and does not even own a piano. He can’t afford to take piano lessons, either, but he hopes to study music management for two years at Lansing Community College and then transfer to Michigan State University. Fans of his viral video have already set up a GoFundMe page to help West get his own piano.

by on Jan. 31, 2016 at 11:09 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Radarma
by Ruby Member on Jan. 31, 2016 at 11:09 PM

This is beautiful.

LGAll65
by on Feb. 1, 2016 at 8:34 AM
I love this! I actually got teary-eyed when I saw this on the news a few days ago. Wonderful!
Radarma
by Ruby Member on Feb. 2, 2016 at 12:27 AM

Wow.

autodidact
by Platinum Member on Feb. 2, 2016 at 1:42 AM