Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

What does it look like to have armed teachers? What do they do?

Posted by on Feb. 23, 2018 at 8:30 AM
  • 107 Replies

A shooter enters the school. 

You are a teacher and you are armed.  

What do you do? 

There are several in this group that are in favor of arming teachers and I'd like to hear from them what it looks like.  

Highly trained or not -- 

What does it look like? 

How do teachers respond? 

by on Feb. 23, 2018 at 8:30 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mjande4
by Member on Feb. 23, 2018 at 8:32 AM
4 moms liked this

The day I'm asked to carry a gun to teach is the day I retire. In addition, I don't want to work with people with guns either. The SRO is enough. 

AmaliaD
by Bronze Member on Feb. 23, 2018 at 8:35 AM
4 moms liked this
I am a teacher and my school discussed the idea last year.

If that’s the situation the armed teachers (according to what the police told us) would leave their groups and go hunt the shooter. You could only sign up if you were okay with that idea. Hunting the person was shooting and knowing that you can be mistaken for the shooter and get shot by police.

And only the most unhinged most unstable people wanted to do it.
anxiousschk
by anxiouss on Feb. 23, 2018 at 8:42 AM

I agree with that -- but I want to know what it looks like for those that don't.  

Quoting mjande4:

The day I'm asked to carry a gun to teach is the day I retire. In addition, I don't want to work with people with guns either. The SRO is enough. 

progressandjoy
by Member on Feb. 23, 2018 at 8:47 AM
1 mom liked this
I was just thinking about this on my way to work this morning, especially considering the outrage about the resource officer.