Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I can't resist posting this here .... UPDATE: Comment from mom who made this video!

Posted by on Jun. 20, 2009 at 7:05 PM
  • 135 Replies

Limalife ... I hope you don't mind that I moved your comment here, but sometimes comments can get lost amongst the threads especially when they get this long. So I have copied and pasted it here.

limalife

by on Jun. 21, 2009 at 8:19 PM

I am the "author" of the video, limalife.

Never before have I had so much controversy over one of my videos. I knew it was going to get some heat but I must say that I've been a little surprised by just how many people have chosen to vociferously make their opinions known (either for or against).

I'm an NRA certified instructor and have been for two years. I have worked with firearms for the last three years and have more training than some police officers or military. Aside from training with firearms I have and will continue to train in areas of hand-to-hand defense as well as edged defensive tools (i.e. knives) and improvised tools (anything you can get your hands on). I certainly do not count on a firearm as the begin all and end all of defense. In fact, I have often told many customers that if you rely solely on your firearm for your defense, when the bullets run out, so will your will to survive and then you can be defeated. A firearm is low on my list of defensive tools.

If you had asked me, seven months ago, what I feared I would have said, "Nothing," (except, perhaps, the occasional eight-legged fiend and roller coasters). Today, however, I would say the only thing that scares me to death is the idea of not being able to protect my child.