Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

at what age do you think you become a adult? **EDIT** with more questions! lol!

Posted by on Oct. 12, 2009 at 6:38 PM
  • 15 Replies

i have a brother who is 22. he is going through that phase of life where he is trying to "figure it all out". he just graduated college & got a job. now he has this stick up his ass so far... that im just waiting for him to come back down to earth. lol! (im 6 years older than him)

i felt like i was grown when i graduated high school. i had a job, an apt & bought my own car. all before i graduated high school. all while maintaining a good GPA & i was also the cheer captain. BUT.... as i have learned... i was not grown... i now have 2 kids and i realize how young i still am & im 28 right now. my children made me realize how much of a child i still am.

i just would like to know thoughts on when you actually feel like you are grown? i wonder if my brother is just going to be stuck up forever or is this just a phase?

I agree with everybody that there is no magical age that we are "grown". i think that is the beauty of life... everyday we are taught something new about ourselves. i just want my "old" brother back, you know? i miss him... he is turning into someone that i would never associate with normally.

i went through different levels of being "grown". at 16, then again at 18 then 22 was the hardest for me. 24 was enlightening and 26 my "biological clock" started to tick... now at 28 im having another...

... what are the other stages of life that i need to watch out for? like how did you feel at say... 30... 35... 40... etc? what were these stage like for you?

also... how about your dh/so's? do they go through "these things" at different ages also? anything i should look out for, like "mid-life crisis"? this post has gotten my head spinning with questions about maturity/ life... lol!

CafeMom TickersCafeMom Tickers