Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Advice?

Posted by on Nov. 12, 2009 at 9:07 PM
  • 7 Replies

My son is now 2 weeks old, when I first started feeding him I was so full my boobs were HUGE like torpedos and hard as rocks. Now, not so much. They are soft like pillows and he seems to be feeding a lot more. Could this be becuase I am not producing enough milk? IF I hear him cry or right before I get into the shower I spray everywhere, so I know I have milk in I am just not sure if I have enough.. is this normal?. This is my second kid but I wasn't able to breastfeed my first one, so I am kind of new at this. Any advice?

by on Nov. 12, 2009 at 9:07 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
mommyof2grls06
by Gold Member on Nov. 12, 2009 at 9:09 PM

He's just going through a growth spurt. When they go through a growth spurt they nurse like crazy for a few days to get your supply up to where they need it and once it's there they stop nursing like crazy for awhile, well till the next growth spurt. Your milk will start to regulate its self after a bit and your boobs won't feel as full, but they still have plenty of milk in there.

People need to understand that when they're deciding between breastmilk and formula, they're not deciding between Coke and Pepsi.... They're choosing between a live, pure substance and a dead substance made with the cheapest oils available.  ~Chele Marmet

A proud Christian, Republican, Anti- Gay marriage, Natural childbirth having, Pro-Life for babies NOT convicts, Extended breastfeeding, Baby wearing, Attachment parenting, Extended Rear Facing and Extended Harnessing, ANTI- CIO, Co-sleeping, mommy to my 3 beautiful girls and wife to my Marine!

Randi02
by Platinum Member on Nov. 12, 2009 at 9:10 PM

How many wet diapers per day?

At 2 weeks old he should be having at least 6-8 wet diapers in a 24 hour period.