Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Posted by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 10:19 AM
  • 12 Replies

I am about to explode!! I work as a full time babysitter during the week, and right now the kids are all driving me up the wall! I have done nothing but yell and scream since 6am.  Since 2 of the kids arent mine, i dont want to spank them.  i have nothing against spanking, i just feel very very wrong spanking someone else's children, even though she did leave them in my care.  Is there anything other than sitting them on the couch for 5 min or in their room for 5 min that i can try? Taking the tv away, and the toys away dong seem to work either. These kids are absolutely horrible. Please, help me!!!

by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 10:19 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 10:21 AM

What is it they are doing that is making you feel that way? And I agree with you, they aren't your kids so you shouldn't spank them. When parents leave there kids with a daycare, they are not allowed to spank.

by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 10:22 AM

Sounds like they are bored. It might be time for a new activity or a game they haven't played in a while.  A good way to get kids to be quiet is to stand in front of them and mouth words. They won't hear you of course and maybe laugh at first. Then suddenly as they get quiter, you get a lil louder so they CAN hear you. Then intro the new thing to do or activity etc.

by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 10:25 AM

Sidenote:  I am glad you decided not to spank them. It's not your place. If you spanked my child, I wouldn't bring them back to you. Ever. And I would probably tell everyone what you did and blacklist ya in the neighborhood. Sounds bitchy, but it's honest. That's not right.

by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 10:31 AM