Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

If you hate your photo taken read this....

Posted by on Aug. 31, 2010 at 3:08 PM
  • 36 Replies

I hate my photo taken. HATE IT. My mom was the same way. As she neared the end of her life however she seemed to recognize how priceless her photo would be to those she left behind and as a photographer I pushed a bit for her to allow it. So I am soooo fortunate to have photos of her with my kids. Well my nephew, who is 31 and a hard ass, came over to get the photos I took of their wedding. He lives in his own world and doesn't visit family much so he hasn't been over since she died. I have the photos displayed and he saw them. It made him cry! My mom was so close to her grandkids yet he has NO pictures of her. I promised to make copies but its not the same as photos that were FOR or WITH him. They all have me or my kids in them. I had not seen my nephew cry since he was like 10. It broke my heart.

So people, take pictures with everyone you love. I know I am going to! I may not display them but they will be available when I am gone. I may not know ahead of time when my time is near like my mom did.

by on Aug. 31, 2010 at 3:08 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
luvplay
by on Aug. 31, 2010 at 3:09 PM
Very touching...I totally agree!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
jabs54
by Platinum Member on Aug. 31, 2010 at 3:13 PM

I'm the only one that takes pictures so I'm never in our family photos.  You bring up a good point though!

gogetem
by on Aug. 31, 2010 at 3:14 PM

That's how I am.  I'm a photographer and no one ever thinks to take a pic of my son and I.  I don't have any :(

Quoting jabs54:

I'm the only one that takes pictures so I'm never in our family photos.  You bring up a good point though!

Owl_Feather
by on Aug. 31, 2010 at 3:14 PM