Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Need help from Jehovah's Witness mommies!!

Posted by on Sep. 28, 2010 at 1:26 PM
  • 31 Replies

I am an art teacher at an elementary school.  I teach at a school that is very diverse and each grade level is studying a certain country for the year.  They learn Chinese as part of their curriculum too.  As the art tacher it is my job to show the students art from other countries and discuss the tradiations and customs that go along with the art.  I do not do things for Halloween, Christmas, Easter etc.  We do Winter and fall, spring things.  I am very careful as to not offend anyone and talk about anything that could be against religious beliefs.

With discussing art from Mexico we are discussing Dios de los Muertos(Day of the dead) the celebration has TONS of colorful art that is amazing to show the kids.  I can make masks, puppets, costsumes, statues etc all around this theme.  I decided since the 3rd grade studies Mexico AND studies the skeletal system we would create decortations in the style of the Mexican artisist do for Day of the dead.  I spoke of the cultural ideas, not any religious ones.  I reminded the class that the skeletons are not to be scary they are to be in honor of ancestors.  This lesson will hit on art styles, cultural studies AND science.  We also will talk math and talk about symmetry of the human body.

I have a student who is a Jehovahs witness and he informed me that this is against his religion.  How do you mommies feel?  How can I teach about another countries culture and art without infringing on his religious rights?  I want to do right by this child.  BTW I teach at a school that the parents are not easy to get ahold of, the parents never really come to the school unless they are up in arms about something WE as teachers have done.