Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

To work.. or not to work.. ?

Posted by on Apr. 13, 2011 at 3:05 PM
  • 12 Replies

I need some serious advice...

I've been contemplating going back to work for a few months after being a stay at home mother since November of 2007.  I have three kids -ages: 4, 3, & almost 2. My 4 year old is going to Kindergarten in the fall, and my 3 year old will be in Pre-K (which is half the day).

[A little background on me: I have no college education.  I was a receptionist at a car dealership for a few years before I became a full time mother.  It wasn't a great paying job and after we had our 2nd child, I was forced to stay home because it would have actually cost me money to go to work.

So... my father is opening up his own grocery store. He asked me to be the front end manager at $10 an hour, plus quarterly bonuses. Let's face it, with my background... it's the best offer I'll ever get -especially with not working for such a long period of time. ...My DH and I talk about it. We decide that after paying a sitter to watch three small children all summer long... it's still not profitable & we'd have to take our sons out of their sports bc I wouldn't be able to take them. And my DH REALLY wants me to be a SAHM bc that's how he was raised.

So I tell my father that it's not going to work out at full time.. and he offers me another position -same hourly pay, just 8am-12 everyday.  Personally, I LOVE this idea. I call the sitter -she says she'll do it for $100 per week! My husband, on the other hand, is negative nelson.. DOES NOT want me to go to work. He's making every excuse in the book for me to stay home with our children. He says, "It's just not going to benefit our family" ...and To me, I feel like... Hey, at least I'll be getting out of the house and having a little socialization with other people for a change!