Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms
Hello everyone I am new to CafeMom looking for some advice. I have a 6 week old newborn & her father has petitioned for visitation rights, which I'm not against. Here is the issue, he was not around my entire nor was he there for her birth, she didn't meet him until she was 4 weeks old & that has been the ONLY time he's seen her. We have been arguing because he feels like he should be able to just come & pick her up since she's his daughter however I feel like he needs to bond with her first. Am I wrong or asking for too much? He still hasn't came by to see her or have asked to see her & I have been very open with letting him know he is more then welcome to see her, he just can't pick her up without bonding with her. Please help!
by on May. 5, 2012 at 3:18 AM
Replies (31-40):
MissNarin
by on May. 5, 2012 at 8:04 PM
I'm not keeping him away as you see from my other replies. He's keeping himself away because of his own personal issues, I only want them to bond before coming to pick her up & that I'm comfortable knowing he can properly care for her. She's breast fed, yes I can pump & I'll be willing too but I don't even know if he knows how to change a diaper!

Quoting love-javier:

He's her father. I wish my sons father wanted to see him. Trust me as she gets older regardless of your differences you will be thankful she has her father in her life. Talk about it and come to a realistic compramise.she's only 6 weeks old and its not like he needed to be around for your pregnancy to be a good father to her. Sometimes we let our emotions get the best of us but this has nothing to do with you. Regardless of your hurt feelings you need to somehow put it all aside and work together to parent your child. That young she shouldn't be away from you too long anyway.

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
GOBryan
by on May. 5, 2012 at 8:20 PM