Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

Advice for a step mom

Posted by on Jun. 25, 2012 at 1:03 PM
  • 14 Replies
I am a 30 yr old doctor in a long distance relationship with a man with children (5 and 9). We are trying to take things slow. I am meet his kids after dating for 6 months. I am usually good with children but absolutely petrified that things will not work out. Any advice?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Jun. 25, 2012 at 1:03 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
amonkeymom
by Silver Member on Jun. 25, 2012 at 1:14 PM

Welcome.

Keep taking it slow so that the kids can get to know you better.  Don't be scared.

Christy644
by on Jun. 25, 2012 at 1:18 PM
Just be yourself. Things will go just fine.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Portiamgb
by on Jun. 25, 2012 at 2:13 PM
I will be with him and the kids for 4 days straight. My ex had kids who were terrors and bm was a lying, kniving, terrible person. He was also a terrible parent. While my bf is a wonderful parent I'm afraid of bm repercussions and the children hating me.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
LuLuRex
by Bronze Member on Jun. 25, 2012 at 3:15 PM

This is great advice!

Quoting amonkeymom:

Welcome.

Keep taking it slow so that the kids can get to know you better.  Don't be scared.

bamababe1975
by Gold Member on Jun. 25, 2012 at 7:25 PM

I agree. Take your time and things will come. Remember they're nervous and scared, too, and so is your SO. It's all new and you all have to take time to adjust. :)

Quoting LuLuRex:

This is great advice!

Quoting amonkeymom:

Welcome.

emt088
by Member on Jun. 25, 2012 at 10:14 PM

Oh god, im youre looking for support, im the WRONG person to go to. RUN WHILE YOU CAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!