Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

How much should my husband do?

Posted by   + Show Post

We have an odd situation.  My husband was transferred to work in MN, 6 hours away from any of our family.  So we moved.  We have no friends/family around, with the exception of one very busy friend.  I am a SAHM and student.  He works 4 days on, 4 days off.  13 hour shifts, overnights, he runs a Walmart.  I do all the housework, meals, bills, and pet care (we have a dog and cat).  We always argue over how much he should have to pitch in with watching our son.  We don't get breaks at all, unless we travel to visit our families.  On the days he works, we see him maybe an hour, and he is a zombie (not good for conversation!).  His first day off, he is...a zombie.  I know he is working hard, but I want him to do more with our son, or do the dishes once a week or something.  What should I be able to ask from him that is fair?  

by on Oct. 13, 2012 at 11:08 PM
Replies (21-30):
ShannieP
by on Oct. 14, 2012 at 12:54 AM
He should WANT to spend time with his son and he should help you out. Everyone needs a break sometimes!

PS, I moved to MN with no friends as well! We have MIL and SIL but they both hate me, lol
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
KRIZZ25
by Member on Oct. 14, 2012 at 12:55 AM
I WOULD GIVE HIM HIS FIRST DAY TO GET REST( JUST IN TILL U GET ALL GET OVER MOVING AND SETTLED) ..BUT AFTER THAT HIS ASS WILL HELP..PARENTS DONT GET DAYS OFF ..TELL HIM U NEED TIME OFF TO..HE CAN WATCH UR LO ONE OF HIS DAYS OFF FOR A FEW HOURS ..IT WONT KILL HIM.. MAYBE U SHOULD GET A PART TIME JOB AND PUT LO IN DAYCARE FOR FEW DAYS A WEEK..
ShannieP
by on Oct. 14, 2012 at 12:56 AM
That daycare thing you said is INSANE! My MIL charges less than $200/week. She doesn't even charge $300 for an infant!!

Quoting mmccrea:

Quoting katamike: