Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

My daughter is going bald!

Posted by on Nov. 11, 2012 at 5:49 PM
  • 28 Replies
Ok not totally but my 3 year old has a bald spot on the top of her head and a slightly smaller one over more toward her temple. Her pediatrician is leaning toward alopecia areata (sp?) but referred us to a dermatologist for further testing, diagnosis and treatment. My question is, has anyone her dealt with this before? And if so can you giver me any advice? My biggest fear is she will either lose more hair or never grow this hair back and will get made fun of as she grows older.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Nov. 11, 2012 at 5:49 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
lucky2Beeme
by Gold Member on Nov. 11, 2012 at 5:53 PM

bump sorry I have no experience

true-love-21
by on Nov. 11, 2012 at 5:54 PM

BUMP!

sabrtooth1
by on Nov. 11, 2012 at 7:32 PM

Go to the dermatologist.  Find out exactly is going on.  I've known several kids who were bald, and they wore scarves or wigs, and NO ONE made fun of them.  Of course, they were bald because they had cancer.  Being bald because of alopecia, or a dermatological disorder, is far preferable.  And stop making this a big deal.  It will only be upsetting for your daughter if YOU continue to act upset. 

Mommyof2114
by on Nov. 11, 2012 at 7:41 PM
Sorry you are dealing with this. My dd has super thin hair and has a spot in the middle of her hair but its not a bald spot.
PerfectVirgo
by on Nov. 11, 2012 at 7:42 PM
There's a boy in my sons class who has a huge bald spot right in top. No one makes fun of him.
Elyssa414
by Bronze Member on Nov. 11, 2012 at 7:43 PM