Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Reading about my own life

Posted by   + Show Post

Hey Ladies,

I was on here for a while and then fell off. By way or intro: I have two kids. One from my first marriage who is a 12 year old boy and a four year old daughter from my current marriage. I am in the process of getting my doctoral degree in education. I am in my second year as a sahm.

I have a need today to seek out some anonymous help. My son's step mother has been blogging for the last 10 years about her life and I discovered it on Saturday night. I truly fell into it by accident. But I read it for hours, knowing I was invading her space and creating chaos in my life. I play a role in this story as the X. It's worth noting here that from the beginning of my first marriage I believed that my husband was very enamoured with her. I always felt she was a factor in my marriage. It messed with my  20 something mind while it was happening.  Reading this is confirmation of what I suspected and is messing with my 40 something mind. As I read her stories of spending time with my son, while I know I was home in tears, or stories of our interactions where I felt I was being gracious, but instead she was feeling I was insincere has rocked all that I have worked so hard to avoid.

I made a decision years ago to truly blend this family. To be kind and gracious. To be open and accepting. It has been very hard at times. There have been plenty of moments of frustration where I felt I had to stiffle what I wanted to do or say because I had built a house of cards for our family structure and I didn't want to rock the boat.In fairness, if I had blogged all these years mine would probably be more offensive.