Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

getting my 5 year old to clean her room when she fights me every step of the way

Posted by on Jan. 21, 2013 at 12:40 PM
  • 18 Replies

Hi I am new at this, my name is Amy. I have two kids a 5 year olds and a 4 in a half month old. my 5 year old fights me EVERy step of the way. Her dad and i are not together abut share joint coustody. She had his temper and will yell, hit ect... i had to take her radieo out of her room thinking that might get her to clean it but that back fired on me. I need help before i lose my mind with her. :)

by on Jan. 21, 2013 at 12:40 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
doulala
by on Jan. 21, 2013 at 12:42 PM
1 mom liked this

You can group things together on the floor (doll clothes in one pile, blocks in another pile, etc) and then her job can be just one of these at a time.       And you will do it with her (most of the work is yours by the end, probably).

You can sing a song to help associate and keep on track, that can help, too.

;-)

GL!

jillbailey26
by on Jan. 21, 2013 at 12:42 PM

Put her in the room and say "You don't leave this room until it's clean" and walk out.  She can yell, scream and do whatever she wants, but she doesn't leave the room until it's done.  Potty breaks and lunch/dinner are the only allowable reasons.  If she doesn't do it, it continues the next day.

"Let us therefore make every effort to do what leads to peace and to mutual edification"  Romans 14:19

amysuee
by on Jan. 21, 2013 at 12:44 PM

thanks girls, Jill, i have tried that and than go to check on her she still has not done anything, she plays and makes a bigger mess, she is a handful. lol

doulala
by on Jan. 21, 2013 at 12:45 PM

Quoting jillbailey26: