Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

I thought separation anxiety but not sure. HELP!!!!!

Posted by   + Show Post

My daughter is getting redy to be 17 months. I stay home with her so she is use to being with me all day! Bt my hubby does care for her Lit at night while I am running my oldest to sports. If we are at home, she has to be in sight of me and most of the time wants to cling to my leg. I can't get anything done with her attached to my leg. But the weird thing is thAt I go to the gym and can leave her In the nursery and she is just fine. She blows me a kiss goodbye and she is fine. So why would she be ok with that but has to be clinched to my leg at home???

by on Feb. 1, 2013 at 9:33 PM
Replies (51-58):
pumpkin77
by on Feb. 3, 2013 at 11:10 AM

I have been a nursery school teacher for over 14 years and deal with seperation issues on a daily basis.  While I cannot see all the aspects of this problem, I can point out some of the possible reasons for different behavior.

At home you are still in sight, that is a incomplete seperation and is difficult.  At the gym you are completely gone ( in her eyes- even when you are still in the same building).  The other difference is that at the gym there are other distractions (children and new toys) that may help her focus less on the seperation.

Kermitthemom23
by on Feb. 3, 2013 at 11:14 AM
My last one was like that. She is 2 now and much more independant. But it sucked!!!

Keep doing what tou are doing, keep giving her opportunities to be independant. She will be fine
Some of the ither suggestions on letting her help you get things done are good to.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
vinalex0581
by on Feb. 3, 2013 at 11:22 AM
1 mom liked this

i agree with you 100%

Quoting Mommyfish831: