Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

I am a 19 year old about to be 20 year old mother and fiance. At the moment me and my fiance live with his family. Recently my 8 month old daughter has gotten an infection around her ladie part. Its emotionally draining and i just don't know how to handle it. My mother in law is helping me out a lot. Something about it though, urks me a lot and i don't want to be that kind of person. I love her help but sometimes she can be pushy. I know I'm new to this and sometimes when she gets sick i feel as if it is all my fault. I've also been told that it is possible the more she learns to talk she could possilby start calling her grandma, mommy. I REALLY REALLY do not want that happening. It would break my heart in two. What would you all do?

by on Feb. 7, 2013 at 12:08 AM
Replies (21-27):
aniters
by on Feb. 7, 2013 at 9:33 PM
My DS calls my mom "ma" and calls me "mama". I don't have a problem with it. My mom loves my son and they don't get to see each other often because she works alot.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
nicoleg806
by on Feb. 8, 2013 at 2:43 AM

I find it easier to talk to my husband and let him talk to her about how I feel just like I do with my mom. If he has a problem with her I talk it out with her. I just think it keeps the peace with the families. We had this happen with my sister in law

averysmommom
by Member on Feb. 8, 2013 at 3:13 AM

I spent a lot of time w my mil when my son was lil. Lived w her while hubby was out to sea. Actually he was gone when son was born so she helped me he first 4 mos of his life. I was also turning twenty. My MIL is/was amazing but could be very overbearing at the time. But I kept in mind that she was just as excited about being a Grammy as I was a mommy. And if your MIL is a decent person she would never let your baby call her mom. From what I hear being a grandma is pretty amazing.