Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

Dirty Diaper Drop Off in Childcare Question.... Is this Normal?

Posted by on Feb. 15, 2013 at 12:06 PM
  • 60 Replies

About me- I have been providing in home childcare for 6 years. Most of the children I have cared for in the past have started with me at 6 weeks and stay with me until 3-4 years old. I have only had to stop caring for one child due to issues with the parents. I have 2 children of my own (7 and 3.5).

So my question is this- have you ever had a child you were caring for dropped off with a sopping wet, bearly hanging on night time wet diaper? If you are a parent- you know what a night time diaper looks and smells like in the morning. The child is dropped off after 8:00 a.m. and has had breakfast. I tell you this so you know the child wasn't just woken up and brought to me. You would feel this diaper when you picked up the child and put the child in the car seat as well. Parents are always well put together hair/makeup/nice clothes. Not something thrown on to get to work.

When I asked the mom after 2 days of the same issue( in the nicest way possible), if she would make sure that the child was in a fresh diaper when he was dropped off, she got offended. Huffy is a good word. Told me that she was sure he had been changed. Again- most people know what a night time diaper is like. Both days I had to wash his clothes because they were wet with pee. Second day (same clothes on) smelled horrible like pee. I am not good with people that lie, there is no reason to. I can see it being embarrassing, yes.