Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

My daughter has asked if she can get her hair highlighted.

Posted by   + Show Post

What age do you think is appropraite for this. She is a real girly girl. She recently started wearing a training bra, she has asked to get her eyebrows waxed, she wants her hair highlighted, and she wants to go get her nails done. What age do you think this is appropriate? She is 6, she will be 7 the first week of May. 

by on Feb. 16, 2013 at 6:43 PM
Replies (51-60):
GraceStrickland
by on Feb. 16, 2013 at 11:43 PM
How about hair mascara?
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
LABELmeCUTE
by Bronze Member on Feb. 16, 2013 at 11:53 PM
Me and all 3 of my daughters are girlie girls lol soo I'm a pro at these things, nails yes, highlights no, she's still young,& you don't wanna put those chemicals in her hair,and the eye brows NO! Once u get em waxed you'll have to keep going back to get em done, that's stuff I did when I got in high school, let her have something to look forward too
JacksonGirl
by Member on Feb. 17, 2013 at 12:01 AM
I had my DD wait until she was 12 to be sure she knew what she was doing and that it was definitely what she wanted.
nikki554
by on Feb. 17, 2013 at 12:03 AM
Thanks everyone who answered the question at hand. I will not be allowing her to get highlights.I agreed from the moment that I posted the question that she should not do it I just wanted some other moms opinions in it. As far as her eyebrows, if that becomes a real issue we will deal with it then.

And as far as her choice to wear a sports bra, no I am not concerned one but about her wanting to wear one. One of the girls in her class is over weight and is already starting to develop breasts so she wears one. I am not concerned about her sexuality in the least.
averysmommom
by Member on Feb. 17, 2013 at 1:53 AM