Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

is it wise to teach your young child the correct term for body parts.....

Posted by on Mar. 15, 2013 at 12:31 PM
  • 60 Replies
1 mom liked this

I'm new to cafe mom and the i have recently had a issue. i have one son(19 mon.) and my bf has a daughter(7) and son(4). I have been teaching my son that he has a "penis". And one day i was changing his diaper(we have also started trying potty training too) and my bf kids where in the same room and i was talking to my son as i do every time i change him. I said pee comes out of your "penis" and poop comes out of your "butt". well my bf kids then join in to my changing of the diaper. They are so fascinated with watching. So I said boys have "penis" and girls have "vagina". My bf son has been calling his a "worm" and his daughter a "pee pee" which I think is so stupid. I don't talk baby talk to my son and he is saying lots of words.... Well anyways a couple of days ago their mother called and asked my bf about where they learn those words. He told her that's what I teach my son "the correct term" and she said they are too young to say those words....Well my aunt has 3 kids (4,7, and 10) they where taught the right term..... well anyways is it OK cause i think its is BS not to be honest and teach your children the correct terms for body parts. they are not too young.

by on Mar. 15, 2013 at 12:31 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
luvemboth
by Silver Member on Mar. 15, 2013 at 12:39 PM
5 moms liked this
I never understood "cutesie" words for body parts either. We don't make up words for arm or leg, why make up words for other body parts? They are what they are, no need to add embarrassment to it.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
dbscot88
by on Mar. 15, 2013 at 12:51 PM

thats how i feel too. 

Kris_PBG
by on Mar. 15, 2013 at 12:52 PM
This.