Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

medical transcription

Posted by on Mar. 21, 2013 at 7:06 AM
  • 7 Replies
I am seriously considering training online for this. Before I had kids I worked as an LPN and so I already have a lot of the prerequisites under my belt. I just want to bring in a little extra cash so dh and I can get the last bit of debt paid off quicker. So, my question is, for those of you who have done it did you train online ? Where did you get your training from, were you adequately prepared? Was the course flexible enough for a sahm? And about how long did it take and what was the general cost? I have been doing a lot of research and found a ton of sites that offer different prices, even some for free (too good to be true;) I thought it might help to hear from some others who have already done it.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Mar. 21, 2013 at 7:06 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
JoeMax
by on Mar. 21, 2013 at 7:23 AM
BUMP!
lucky2Beeme
by Gold Member on Mar. 21, 2013 at 7:32 AM

My 2 friends did it. Then the jobs got outsourced. It much cheaper to have people in India or the Philippines do it.

JoeMax
by on Mar. 21, 2013 at 9:51 AM
Thanks for theresponse. Did yourfriends have trouble finding new jobs in transcribing?

Quoting lucky2Beeme:

My 2 friends did it. Then the jobs got outsourced. It much cheaper to have people in India or the Philippines do it.

emilysmom8
by Dawn on Mar. 21, 2013 at 9:55 AM
Most hospitals/doctor offices are now hoing computerized. The hospital I work at has a voice identification system, when ever the doctor dictates anything the computer types it up. Medical Transcription is dying out, in a few years you wont be able to find a job... what about medical coding and billing?
MomofSCMJJA
by on Jun. 21, 2013 at 3:21 AM