Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Help!!!!

Posted by on Apr. 7, 2013 at 8:43 AM
  • 17 Replies
I have a second degree sunburn and nothing is helping it. I've use aloe, cold compresses, lukewarm bath with baking soda, tylonel, and numbing spray for sunburns. I'm in so much pain. I haven't even been to bed. Blisters keep popping up. I'm lost on what else to try.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Apr. 7, 2013 at 8:43 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
bamababe1975
by Gold Member on Apr. 7, 2013 at 11:45 AM

You're already doing everything you can do for yourself at home, really. You could try a hydrocortisone cream if you like, but that may not provide you any more relief. If you're in a lot of pain, you may want to go to a doctor for treatment.

Lindalou907
by Silver Member on Apr. 7, 2013 at 1:26 PM

It seems counter-intuitive, but my mom always used to tell me to take a hot shower and that would take the burn out. Worked for me. You could try one area and see if it helps you, good luck!

MentorMom1
by on Apr. 7, 2013 at 3:00 PM

A warm bath or shower is supposed to help a light burn turn to tan. Not  second degree burns.

Quoting Lindalou907:

It seems counter-intuitive, but my mom always used to tell me to take a hot shower and that would take the burn out. Worked for me. You could try one area and see if it helps you, good luck!

MentorMom1
by on Apr. 7, 2013 at 3:05 PM

I would go to urgent care as soon as you can. Don't be embarrassed that you stayed out too long. The big thing you need to do is keep your second degree burns from getting infected, and burns can get infected with very nasty results.