Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Did you breast feed one baby longer than the other?

Posted by on Apr. 20, 2013 at 6:36 PM
  • 27 Replies

I am new to CafeMom. You all are an interesting bunch. I have a question but here is a little background first:

I breast fed our older daughter (now 11yo) for 18 months. We waited 10 years, graduated college, got married, got some life experience, and well paying careers before having our second daughter (now 17 months old). Our 11yo is super attached to me and has been since birth. Our 17 month old likes me but isn't super attached like the 11yo. That's okay with me...I like independent people/kids.

Here is my question: Did you breast feed one child significantly longer than the other? If so, was the child who was breast fed longer more attached to you?

by on Apr. 20, 2013 at 6:36 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Kris_PBG
by on Apr. 20, 2013 at 6:38 PM
1 mom liked this
My kids self wean, so they both did so at different times.

I am very close with both of them, but I don't think their length of bfing impacted their level of attachment.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
JMmama
by Member on Apr. 20, 2013 at 6:42 PM
1 mom liked this
I have breastfed my kids longer with each one. The attachment seems more based on their personality than how long they breastfed.
DaWife806
by on Apr. 20, 2013 at 6:42 PM

That's what I was wondering. Our youngest isn't a "cuddler" and our oldest loves to cuddle. I always wondered if it had something to do with breast feeding. When the baby doesn't want to cuddle I find myself saying "I should have breast fed you longer" although there is no proof that's why she doesn't like to cuddle. I was curious about what other mom's have experienced. Your experience is different than mine which busts my theory. LOL. Thank you for replying. :)

luvemboth