Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

Did you breast feed one baby longer than the other?

Posted by   + Show Post

I am new to CafeMom. You all are an interesting bunch. I have a question but here is a little background first:

I breast fed our older daughter (now 11yo) for 18 months. We waited 10 years, graduated college, got married, got some life experience, and well paying careers before having our second daughter (now 17 months old). Our 11yo is super attached to me and has been since birth. Our 17 month old likes me but isn't super attached like the 11yo. That's okay with me...I like independent people/kids.

Here is my question: Did you breast feed one child significantly longer than the other? If so, was the child who was breast fed longer more attached to you?

by on Apr. 20, 2013 at 6:36 PM
Replies (21-27):
december911
by Member on Apr. 21, 2013 at 6:09 PM

I did breastfeed the first longer, and we had a stronger bond it seemed. The second DD was more independent, and I was working and going to school so DH was with her more. We weren't as close in the beginning, but by about a year and a half, we were as inseparable as me and my oldest DD still are. So I don't think the BF'ing helped or hurt the bonding. just different personalities.

momtoBrenna
by Bronze Member on Apr. 21, 2013 at 7:54 PM

I breastfed my dd for 14.5 months and my ds for 22.5 months. Dd was mommy weaned due to a biting problem and the normal methods no longer working. She thought that my reaction was hilarious and she had 16 teeth! Ds self weaned and was down to 1 time a day at the end. They are equally attached to me. 

Maddy12922
by on Apr. 22, 2013 at 2:12 AM