Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

training a co-worker plz help!

Posted by on Apr. 24, 2013 at 9:51 PM
  • 11 Replies

I am a preschool teacher, and have never been a mentor teacher before. There is a language barrier also, but something else also. Feel like my attempts to train are taken the wrong way, or I'm told yes I understand but will do what I want. I believe this is her 5th week now. I know she is very entry level, starting last week I started to kinda step back and let her stand on her own. It is a very busy afternoon class and we are busy getting children down for naps (some who do not nap) and cleaning or doing prep. I feel like I'm loosing my patients and feel she may not be cut out for this line of work. Please give me ideas on how to build a mentor relationship, because I feel like I'm running around covering a lot when it is supposed to be a team environment. 

by on Apr. 24, 2013 at 9:51 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
JeremysMom
by on Apr. 24, 2013 at 10:00 PM
I have a co-worker that I mentor and there is a bit of a language barrier as well. At first she acted like she wanted me to do the work for her. I made it very clear that I was there to support her but I would not do her job for her. I found it best writting out certain steps for her to do to get started and discussed everything Asa whole. It was a lot if information to learn at first so I did repeat a few things and had her write down a few things. I met with her once a week at first, then twice a month, and now once a month.
Mamamanic
by Gold Member on Apr. 24, 2013 at 10:09 PM
1 mom liked this