Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

I am currently a full time student at a local college. We pay a good amount of money OOP for this beacuse we do not qualify for financial aid. But we are having another baby and I know we can not afford both with out sacrificing somwhere else.  I am wondering if anyone has any experience with completely online schools like Penn Foster or anything like that?

by on May. 1, 2013 at 3:54 PM
Replies (11-20):
orliesmom
by Member on May. 2, 2013 at 8:32 AM

$3000 is still steep for 6 months. I have looked into other online schools that want the majority of tuition up front which I can not do. This breaks it into $500  a month which if I was doing that I may as well stay in the nursing program and lessen my class load  I would still be paying less than that. About half for part time

Quoting JeremysMom:

I highly recommend Western Governors University. They do not have an associates degree program but they have a Bachelors degree in Accounting. Tuition is $3000 every 6 months and you can complete as many hours as you want in those 6 months.

http://www.wgu.edu/business/online_business_bachelor

If this is not what you are looking for, let me know. There are other colleges as well.

Quoting orliesmom:

Well I had originally intended to be a RN but since that can not be done online I needed to pick something else so I was thinking Associates In Accounting that also offers the Bachelor degree as well.

Quoting JeremysMom:

I would stay away from Penn Foster and other for profit schools. What is your major? I can help find you an accredited program/school that will cost much less than for profit schools.

JeremysMom
by on May. 2, 2013 at 8:47 AM