Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

I am currently a full time student at a local college. We pay a good amount of money OOP for this beacuse we do not qualify for financial aid. But we are having another baby and I know we can not afford both with out sacrificing somwhere else.  I am wondering if anyone has any experience with completely online schools like Penn Foster or anything like that?

by on May. 1, 2013 at 3:54 PM
Replies (21-30):
JeremysMom
by on May. 2, 2013 at 11:44 PM
The Associates and Bachelor degree programs are only nationally accredited. If you attend Penn Foster and later try to transfer, your classes from PF will not transfer. Also, if you ever want to go to grad school, they will not accept a degree from Penn State or any other nationally accredited only school.

Quoting orliesmom:

I have been looking in to a bunch on online schools today and am wondering why you say to stay away from Penn Foster? They seem to be both regionally and nationally accredited if my research is correct and they are a lot more flixble payment wise than all the other schools I have come accross.

Quoting JeremysMom:

I would stay away from Penn Foster and other for profit schools. What is your major? I can help find you an accredited program/school that will cost much less than for profit schools.

Asenath
by on May. 3, 2013 at 11:53 AM

I go to school online, Ashford University. I love it, everyone is pretty nice and my advisor is always available to me. It can be pretty hard because the classes are only 5 wks long, and they try to not leave anything out. I do it while my son, and the other kids I watch are asleep or during their free-play time. I love being able to do something for me, our future, keep my brain moving, and still not loose anytime with my son! 

LuvMommysBabies
by Bronze Member on May. 3, 2013 at 3:29 PM