Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

he pushed me while i was holding our daughter

Posted by   + Show Post

hi! this is my first time to cafe mom and i have no idea if this is the right place to post this... but i just need some advice. My partner and i have a nine month old daughter and we fight all the time. I believe our relationship can be fixed, but the biggest problem is his temper, We had a dumb argument last night; he bought lottery tickets, even though we have bills etc due and i said (politely!) that i didn't agree with him doing that. It ended up with him making comments about "its my money and i'll do what i want"... he uses the fact that i don't earn any money against me and he knows i hate it! anyway he didn't speak to me for the rest of the night, then this morning he got up and got dressed ready to go out. When i asked him where he was going he wouldn't tell me and got really aggro when i pushed the issue. I'm sick of these childish games so i stood between him and the front door and kept pushing the issue. i know now i should probably have put our daughter down first. He ended up backing me against the door and trying to push me out of the way, i had one hand on his chest to try and get him to stop and talk to me instead of storming out and was using my foot to keep the door shut, he called me a psycho and shoved me out of the way and opened the door... i said "i don't want a life like this!" and he just said "don't worry. it won't be" and stormed out. He's told me before not to back him into a corner when hes angry and to just let him have time to calm down, so i know i probably should have just let him leave, but we have a daughter now and i can't believe he'd rather soend the day away from us and angry over something so little! I'm so ashamed that my home life is such a mess.... my parents have a perfect relationship and i've never witnessed stuff like this so i have no idea ho