Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

Kids relationship with the step parent

Posted by on Jun. 12, 2013 at 8:36 PM
  • 3 Replies

Hello group, This is my first time posting anything on a group page. But I am not sure what to do anymore. 

I have been with my husband for almost 5 years. I have 5 children, 2 are my husbands and live in another state, 2 are mine that live with me, and my husband and I have one together. I am not sure how to help my husband and my children get a long. He is very strict, and they each have their own issues. My daughter is bipolar and my son is impulsive. My husband is a great man, he cooks cleans takes the kids to after school activites. But he talks with a bit of a loud voice, that comes across as yelling. He expects a lot from the kids. Which I understand he wants them to grow up to be respectable adults. But at the same time I do not feel like he is letting them be kids. My daughter is 11, and she can have a bit of an attitude. She can also be the sweetest kindest thing.  She had a really bad self esteem and I am afraid all of the punishing and negative feedback she gets is not helping to make it any better. My son is constantly in trouble, he has been grounded for the last month. And when he is grounded he can't do anything but sit in a chair. I am feeling like he doesn't care if he behaves, because it will never be good enough anyway. 

I try talking to my husband about this, but then all we do is argue. He doesn't like to be told that his way may not be the best way. He gets really pissed when I disagree with him. I don't do it in front of the kids, I wait until they go to bed, so that they don't see that we are not a united front. But then that makes them resent me, because they feel like I never stick up for them.