Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Affirmation...does it work?

Posted by on Jul. 26, 2013 at 3:59 PM
  • 10 Replies
Has anyone used Affirmation self help? Does it work? My councilor told me today to try it and am curious just how "good" it works.
by on Jul. 26, 2013 at 3:59 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
frndlyfn
by Platinum Member on Jul. 26, 2013 at 4:49 PM

For me it keeps me calm and in a positive mind set.   If a negative thought tries to sneak in,  i start from the beginning.

Bmat
by Barb on Jul. 26, 2013 at 5:05 PM

I don't know what Affirmation officially is. I learned something that sounds similar when I studied yoga, and also a good number of years ago the book The Power of Positive Thinking was popular. I believe that if a person believes that something bad will happen that the chances are increased that it will- since the person may make choices that would lead to the bad event. Positive thinking gives more energy to moving toward a desired goal.

rugratsmommy4
by Bronze Member on Jul. 26, 2013 at 5:14 PM
That's pretty much what she wants me to do. She believes "your fat" was drilled into my head for so long by my ex that I can't see just how "not fat" I actually am now. I see the clothes shrinking and see mediums/10-12s fit, I just don't see that I'm not fat. Idk, a bit confused about all of it, or as my bff says "I'm mental" lol

Quoting Bmat:

I don't know what Affirmation officially is. I learned something that sounds similar when I studied yoga, and also a good number of years ago the book The Power of Positive Thinking was popular. I believe that if a person believes that something bad will happen that the chances are increased that it will- since the person may make choices that would lead to the bad event. Positive thinking gives more energy to moving toward a desired goal.

Bmat
by Barb on Jul. 26, 2013 at 7:44 PM